Where Do Xbox 360s Go When They Die?

Where does your Red Ringed Xbox 360 go?

Well, if you are one of those gamers who likes to fix their system without voiding their warranty, it goes here:

Jabil

Repair Center

5700 S International Parkway Door 18

Mcallen TX 78503

addy

What would I see? Rows and rows of Xbox 360s lined up in an assembly line with a bunch of people in cool white suits cracking them open in an assembly line?

The truth of it was not nearly that cool.  The journey was a bit of a letdown in the end.  I wasn’t allowed past the security desk, but I was able to ask some questions.  It turns out that the place where Xboxes go is nothing more than a distribution center about five miles from the Texas/Mexico border (the Rio Grande River).

Your Microsoft consoles go here, and are then shipped somewhere in Mexico.  I also recently found out that this is where your Seagate hard drives go, whether or not those are shipped to the same repair facility from here I don’t know.

Jabil website here: Jabil.com

Here is a map. It’s right on the border.

7 responses to “Where Do Xbox 360s Go When They Die?

  1. Nice. So they give the illusion that it’s Americans in TX doing the work when really they are just giving the labor to Mexico and the Americans are the mail men.

    What happens when the blackhole of money that everyone seems to think Americans have is gone because all our labor is shipped to other countries? It’s a system just waiting to collapse on itself.

    I know it’s off topic but something to think about.

    • It’s an interesting way to look at it. The story was mostly about my disappointment in finding out that there was nothing Xbox about it. :(
      Thanks for reading though!

  2. Read a blog at night. In this post, let me fascinated … writings of great landlord.

  3. Hi .. thanks for the post, i’d love to see more from you :)

  4. Nice article! Thanks for the post. My Xbox just got repaired, the UPS tracking said MX. I couldn’t figure out why my frickin Xbox would be in Mexico! Now I know why. :) I thought it was funny they wouldn’t let you inside. Too bad, those would have been some sweet photos if they did! ;)

    • heh, thanks for reading. :D Sorry for the late response, I haven’t updated this site in a while. I really should tho. :(

  5. It’s exhausting to search out educated people on this subject, however you sound like you recognize what you’re talking about! Thanks

Leave a Reply

